Your game progress is saved locally on your device. If automatic device backup is enabled, your progress may also be backed up to your online storage account through a service such as Google or Apple.
Automatic device backup is typically enabled by default, but this can vary depending on your device and settings. If you have disabled automatic backup, your locally stored game data may not be recoverable if the data is deleted or your device is lost.